The Weeklies #134

The Weekly Phenomenon. Lost is over. I’ll admit, I’m bummed. Sure, it didn’t answer all the questions but dammit the finale was still good. It was a show about faith, hope, love and fate and that’s, ultimately, what the last two hours were all about.
The Weekly Milestone. Mia’s last day of preschool – EVER – is today. How in the hell did that happen?
The Weekly Read. Fresh off the beach, I was looking for a nice, mindless beach book. I picked up James Patterson’s Lifeguard. You know, it didn’t suck. It actually wasn’t bad at all. Okay, it wasn’t fine literature but it was fast-paced entertainment which, frankly, was what I was paying it for.
The Weekly Music. I always liked the concept of the Stone Temple Pilots more than I liked their music. Their debut album was strong however it was their second that blew me out of the water. I still rank it as one of the true great alternative albums of the 90s. But after that, STP started sucking. In a big way. Their third album was garbage and, up until they disbanded, they never really recovered. I can’t say I was very hopeful when they reformed. After all, the reformation came out of the ashes of two very good bands – Velvet Revolver (though it’s apparently not dead yet) and Army of Anyone. I’m surprised and happy to reveal that their latest, Stone Temple Pilots, is freakishly good. It’s chock-full of goodness and more hooks than you can imagine. It’s one of those albums you wish you knew all the words to immediately so you could sing along. It’s not nearly as heavy as they can get but it’s damn good to listen to.
The Weekly Schadenfreude. Oh, Ann Curry. You flub so much on TV who’d have thought you’d have anything left to flub offTV. I underestimated you. According to US News & World Report:

You have to feel for Ann Curry. The Today show anchor made a serious flub in her commencement speech at Wheaton College in Norton, Mass., this past weekend. Curry ran through some names of Wheaton’s most famous alumni during one part of her speech. The problem? She named a few grads from the Wheaton College in Illinois. Oops.

The Weekly Question. On Wednesday I revealed via Facebook that I’d forgotten to wear underwear (see what you miss if you don’t catch me on Facebook?). How about you? Going commando – something you do never, often or, hey, what’s underwear?

14 thoughts on “The Weeklies #134

  1. Commando! Ooohhh! I love going commando! Makes me feel so decadent and NAUGHTY!
    And I love beach books. There are just some books made for that. And others? You just CANNOT READ THEM ON THE BEACH>

    Like

  2. You’d think she’d think to make sure she got her facts right eh?
    I never wear underwear under workout gear, I found that the extra layer increases chafing. TMI…

    Like

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever accidentally gone commando, but I have on multiple occasions realized halfway through the day that I put my underwear on inside out. (I guess I was just lucky it wasn’t also on backwards.)

    Like

  4. I thought you were messing with us, when you said that. I have on occassion gone commando on purpose.
    Yesterday,my son “forgot” underwear, had to turn around and have him go get some.

    Like

  5. Ann Curry is something else. I go commando a lot. Commando while working out so nothing gets all bunched up; commando under sweats or PJ’s because it’s too much friction (like flannel PJ’s on flannel sheets); commando under dresses at home in the summer because we don’t have AC so when the house is 88 degrees, I need as little as possible on.

    Like

  6. I don’t go commando unless all my undies are in the wash. It’s…well, it’s just a thing. I’m not opposed to commando-osity but there are reasons of laundry why I’d rather just not.

    Like

  7. Nope – never commando. Too creepy. But my husband has convinced his son that he must go commando under jammies otherwise it will do damage to his boy bits….what!?! He brain washed his son on that issue before I met him so I’ve been unable to set the poor boy straight.
    I love Ann Curry’s flub. And for that matter, I love it anytime a finely polished, beautiful, intellectual celeb accidentally falls off their cloud to touch earth for a moment and becomes (*gasp!*) – human. For some reason, it makes me like them just a little bit more. And seriously, do you think any of the students noticed and/or cared? They were most likely hungover, still drunk, or thinking about getting drunk. The media outlets and stuffy profs. were the only ones who noticed.

    Like

  8. i forgot to wear a bra to work once. does that count? luckily, i had worn several layers of clothing (it was winter) and had to wear a lab coat on top. that’s what happens when i work 26 hours in 48 hours! also, thanks for writing about the new broken bells cd a few months ago. i love it and without your recommendation i might have missed it! i love mercermouse!

    Like

  9. It’s been known to happen on occasion…its like a little secret only you know!
    And I never wear underwear under workout pants or pajama bottoms, somehow its just too much.

    Like

Comments are closed.