The Weeklies #151

The Weekly Geek Purchase. This week I bought myself a Pogoplug. What’s a Pogoplug? It lets me connect all my external hard drives – the ones with my music, videos and pictures – to my router and share with any computer on my home network or, better, THE WORLD!
The Weekly Fall Fail. Apparently there are thousands of people everywhere using their GPS-enabled cell phones to find their way out of corn mazes. That just ain’t right.
The Weekly Gadget Devotion. Late actor Tony Curtis was laid to rest earlier this week. Buried with him? His iPhone. Now that’s dedication. Or just really strange product placement.
The Weekly Read. I’ve made a vow this October to get into the spirit of the month and read nothing but scary books. The first? Ghost Road Blues Jonathan Mayberry. The verdict? It was pretty good but not perfect. The book’s setting – rural Pennsylvania – was perfect for this ghost story. The execution was good and the writing was strong. But two things kept it from being perfect. First, it didn’t really scare me. Second, it was the first novel in a trilogy and, as such, didn’t really have an ending. Will I read the second book in the series? Sure. Already bought it.
The Weekly Music. Joe Satriani is a guy with a problem. Joe’s one of the most brilliant guitarist who’s ever picked up the instrument and he churns out a steady stream of really solid instrumental guitar albums. The problem? How to keep each one sounding fresh an avoid each album sounding the same. His latest – Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards – doesn’t provide a completely original set of Satriani songs but it does prove just how good he is. Does it redefine the guitarist? Absolutely not. Is it worth checking out? Definitely.
The Weekly Schadenfreude. Have you caught TLC’s Sister Wives? I haven’t but this much is clear to me. Going on television doing something illegal is stupid. Polygamy is illegal. Therefore, going on television being polygamous all over the place is probably not the brightest idea. So why are these people surprised that – wow – all of the sudden they’re being investigated?
The Weekly Asshat. Gene Simmons. The Kiss bassist has always been a lovable asshole but perhaps we’re starting to see the real Gene when he talked about music piracy.

Make sure your brand is protected. Make sure there are no incursions. Be litigious. Sue everybody. Take their homes, their cars. Don’t let anybody cross that line. The music industry was asleep at the wheel, and didn’t have the balls to sue every fresh-faced, freckle-faced college kid who downloaded material. And so now we’re left with hundreds of thousands of people without jobs. There’s no industry.

Look, I get that piracy is wrong but it’s not like the music industry didn’t set itself up for miserable failure early on in the whole digital music revolution. Stealing is wrong. Prosecuting kids is too.
The Weekly Question. What scares you the most?

19 thoughts on “The Weeklies #151

  1. What scares me most? Our company getting sued by a litigious asshole who’s clearly wrong but thinks he’s right. Who will have no regard to the money we would have to spend to defend ourselves against his asshole-ishness. All because he clearly does not want to pay the remainder of the money he owes us.

    Like

  2. Gene Simmons is full of shit. He says something outrageous like that about once a year, just to stay in the news. How many scarce (physical) products can you buy that are putting money in Gene Simmons wallet? The guy figured out way before just about anybody else how to make money of his music, without actually having to sell anymore music. KISS is a case study in how to cash in on your music through other channels.

    Like

  3. Though I think he is too harsh (sue everybody? no, don’t sue anyone!) I think holding kids accountable is fine. Just more along the lines of lose your ipod, not your house.

    Like

  4. Scary? Wasting time on bad books! Ha…lame segue into a recommendation for you: Chevy Stevens, “Still Missing”, disturbing but very well written.
    Have a great weekend.

    Like

  5. people who use the words in the Bible, and God or religion, to perpetuate hate, bigotry, racism, etc. God is love. no one is better than anyone else in God’s eyes. and, relatedly, those who don’t share their toys.

    Like

  6. I saw Joe Satriani play at the Las Vegas House of Blues a few (several? now that I think about it, maybe several) years ago. He is a guitar god. Sadly, I just don’t think it translates well to cds (or mp3s or whatever.)
    Besides my fear of dying before I’ve raised my kids or my kids having something horrific happen to them, I fear Sharon Angle being voted into office here in Nevada. Nightmares-at-night fear.

    Like

  7. In Ghana the big thing is to have coffins carved in shapes reflective of your life – a fish for a fisherman, etc. One of the more popular coffins is a cell phone. Go figure!

    Like

  8. I’m curious, Do you support polygamy? I know you support gay marriage, so it would seem you would have to support polygamy. That’s the problem that people don’t get. If you support 2 men or 2 women getting married, then it stands to reason that it should be ok for a man to marry more than one woman if that is what makes him/them happy. You can’t protect one person’s pursuit of happiness and not anothers……just a thought, not a challenge.

    Like

  9. What scares me the most? Getting lost in a corn maze….which is why I bring my GPS.
    I don’t understand the polygamy/gay marriage comparison comment. It might scare me a little bit too.

    Like

  10. If you’re looking for scary novels for your October theme, may I recommend Feed, by Mira Grant? It’s not super scary, because I’m kind of wimpy, but it is about zombies and politics and even blogging. I really enjoyed it!

    Like

  11. My fear? After perverting the Constitution, now the Republicans are tossing around “take back the Constitution” Scares the living shit outta me to think what they want to do with it.

    Like

  12. Five year old running around my house singing the Barney’s dead song (Damn older siblings.) It’s terrifying because I found myself humming it while grocery shopping~ Oh, and living in CA, that is the most frightening right now

    Like

  13. I totally want your geek purchase haha. And a bunch more external HDs. And a new compy. Oh dear.
    I’m scared of … living a pointless life, I guess.

    Like

Comments are closed.